Healthy people, families, and communities.


Ver opción en Español en la parte superior de esta página

The North Georgia Health District is part of the Georgia Department of Public Health. This District is comprised of six counties including Cherokee, Fannin, Gilmer, Murray, Pickens, and Whitfield. Many programs and services exist throughout the district, all of which are designed to meet the needs of the people of North Georgia.

Our Vision

Our vision for the North Georgia Health District is healthy people, families and communities.

Our Mission

Our mission is to promote and protect the health of the people in the North Georgia Health District wherever they live, work and play, through population-based preventive programs including:

  Prevention of epidemics and the spread of disease
  Protection against environmental hazards
  Injury prevention
  Promotion and encouragement of healthy behaviors
  Responding to disasters and assisting communities to recover
  Assisting communities in assessing the quality and accessibility of health services.


Media Inquiries may be submitted to Jennifer King, Public Information Officer, at

Open Records Requests may be submitted addressed to the district Ethics Officer at Click here to download the Open Records Request Form.